Friday 15 November 2019

BEST AND WORST NEW TRACKS OF THE WEEK 15/11/2019: Billie Eilish, Frank Ocean, Earl Sweatshirt and more...

Odd Future alumni Frank Ocean and Earl Sweatshirt continue to sound futuristicly odd. But have they gone too far this time? Also new tracks from Billie Eilish and …And You Will Know Us From The Trail Of The Dead.


 ‘Boketto’ – Lone

‘Boketto’ is a Japanese word meaning to stare into the distance without thinking. It perfectly describes the meditative vibe of this new track from UK producer Lone. I particularly love the ghostly synths that sound like they may be samples of the Playstation start-up sound. The ending with its loose glistening keys is also spellbinding.

‘False Step (Awol)’ – Pantology

The second single off of Pantology’s new EP 2Q19, ‘False Step’ revolves around an intriguing chord progression – the last chord seems almost out of place (almost like a ‘false step’). Noodling bass and steady percussion carry the chord sequence along until the whole track eventually builds to pitch-shifted climax before woozily fading away.  

‘everything I wanted’ – Billie Eilish

This track may not be everything I wanted from a new Billie Eilish song – the production for one is a little subdued. However, Billie’s breathy voice continues to be as gripping. I also think the lyrical theme of the song is pretty unique, recounting a dream in which she commits suicide and in which her brother is the only one who cares. Some will dismiss it as emo melodrama, but I think it’s a sweet look at the bond she has for her brother (who happens to also produce this song).

‘Don’t Look Down’ - …And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of The Dead

It’s been a while since we heard a new Trail of The Dead single. Tao Of The Dead was the last full album I heard from these guys – and that was back in 2011! This new single is one of their more straightforward indie rock tunes. I was a little underwhelmed when it started, but the track definitely gets more interesting in the latter half when the wall of guitars kicks in. The band have a new album X: The Godless Void And Other Stories coming out soon.


‘In My Room’ – Frank Ocean

As with his last single ‘DHL’, this new track from Frank Ocean feels pretty loose in structure. There are no hooks and it seems to abruptly cut off at the end. Frank is also adopting that annoying trippy vocal layering again. I had to Genius the lyrics to work out what he was rapping about, but I needn’t have bothered because it’s all word salad anyway. The melodic beat’s nice. But quite Frank-ly, there’s little else to hold this track together.

‘EAST’ – Earl Sweatshirt

Fellow ex-Odd-Future member Earl Sweatshirt is also no stranger to abstract music. Personally, I get more enjoyment out of dissecting Earl’s poetry than the gibberish that Frank has been serving up – there’s usually an actual message behind it all. Unfortunately, the looping accordion sample is so distractingly horrible that it stops me from wanting to spend too much time dissecting this song. He doesn’t even try to develop the beat – it just loops continuously like Chinese water torture.